Hawkfish are a small predatory family of fish that spend most of their time on protruding coral blocks or branches of the reef.

The name ‘hawkfish’ comes from their predatory, ‘hunting like a hawk’ behavior. They use their pectoral fins to ‘sit up’ and watch for prey, and when they see it, they swoop down and devour it quickly.

   In the aquarium these are very interesting fish to watch. They are very active, alert and are one of the hardiest aquarium residents. Many can be kept in reef situations except some will eat small crustaceans like cleaner shrimp. There are two especially that are known for this, C. fasciatus and P. forsteri.

   There are only about 35 known species of Hawkfish. The family of fishes ranges anywhere from 10 cm (4 inches) to 1 meter (39 inches) in length but most of the aquarium specimens are under 15 cm (6 inches).

   Stout bodies and large heads are one of the distinguishing characteristics which separates the Hawkfish from other families like the Blennies. Another obvious characteristic is that all hawkfishes have tufts of hair, called cirri, on the tips of their dorsal spines. Some are easily seen while others are harder to find but all hawkfishes have them.

   Although breeding in the aquarium has not taken place, something is known about how they breed in the wild, see Breeding Marine Fish for more information.

For more Information on keeping marine fish see:
Guide to a Happy, Healthy Marine Aquarium

Click for more info on Falco Hawkfish
Cirrhitichthys falco
Click for more info on Flame Hawkfish
Neocirrhites armatus
Click for more info on Longnose Hawkfish
Oxycirrhites typus